Tabbouleh

I  just entertained the idea of hauling our couch onto the porch of our apartment. I only considered it momentarily, because it’s really not my couch, but I ohSOOObadly want to lounge outside in this beautiful weather. So I’m on the concrete, ya’ll, eating my second bowl of tabbouleh and trying to keep my promise of telling you what I eat this week.

According to wikipedia, tabbouleh originated in Lebanon and Syria. My dad made it for me sometime last year, and I have wanted to make some ever since. During my  lengthy shopping visit to Central Market this past Saturday, I bought some bulgar wheat. I absolutely love Central Market’s and Whole Food’s bulk sections and although I’m usually overwhelmed when I encounter too many options, buying in the bulk section is glorious. You can decide exactly how much you want of something, meaning that if you simply want to try something odd, you don’t have to buy an entire package for it to end up sitting in your cabinet until you graduate and move out of your college apartment. So, options.

the more colorful your food, the healthier it is

Tabbouleh is best prepared in advance so that the juices of the fruits (cucumber and tomato are fruits) and spices have time to sit and marinade. I usually make it at night, and it takes fifteen minutes tops. Bulgar wheat is high in both fiber and carbs and it is nutritious. You can read all about it here if you’re interested: http://www.sunnylandmills.com/bulgur_wheat_about.shtml.

Tabbouleh

1 cup bulgar wheat

1 cup boiling water

1 cucumber, chopped finely

3 small Roma tomatoes, chopped finely

Lotsa lotsa chopped parsely (at least a cup)

Lemon juice

Olive oil

Pour boiling water over bulgar wheat. Chop cucumber, tomatoes, and parsley. When the bulgar wheat has absorbed the water, add the veggies, lemon juice, and olive oil. Add salt and pepper to taste. If you don’t want to wait overnight to eat the tabbouleh, let the bulgar wheat soak longer in the water, maybe 30 minutes-1 hour. Adjust the recipe to your liking.

things I'm reading: Pride and Prejudice sheet music and Jesus for President

outdoor furniture is on the way soon! They wouldn't fit in my car. Until then, I am morose...

Don’t let food stress you out. Revel in the simplicity and eat well. B.

1 Comment

Filed under Lunch, Simplicity, Uncategorized

One response to “Tabbouleh

  1. I need to make some tabbouleh soon! I am also a bulk item browser. I can spend all day looking at the lentils. Also WHY is your porch so huge?!? You shouldn’t have posted these pictures because now I’m not satisfied with my lack of a porch.

Leave a comment